Shine On

Not every day is going to be easy. Not every day will bring good news and happy endings. Not every day is going to be a “good day.” There will be bad days. Horrible days even. Days where nothing goes as planned and days where everything feels like it is falling apart.

Those days, the bad ones… Well, those are the days that really count. Those are the days you are challenged; you are tested. Those are the days you have to work a little harder to shine.

I read somewhere, a long time ago, that you cannot always control what is thrown your way, but you can control how you react to it. Back then (maybe 7 years ago or so) I never thought twice about what that really meant, how could the way I react to what is happening around me change the outcome?

 

Well, I have always been a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. When I was younger there was no doubt in my mind that the world was against me. That I had a tough life ahead of me, I had to. Why else would these things happen? What could the reason be if worse things weren’t already in store.

My point is this: No matter what happens we all have the power to decide how we react. We can accept the bad and shine on knowing there is a reason behind it and nothing we can do is going to change what’s already done. Or we can succumb to the negativity swarming us. Personally I would rather accept what is and shine on! What about you?

Leave a Reply

