Belief

I couldn’t begin to tell you how many days I have got up and said that this is the day! This is the day that EVERYTHING is going to change. I am going to quit smoking, I am going to eat healthy, I am going to exercise, I am going to drink more water. I am going to stay positive. Nothing will be able to bring me down or change my mind because I have complete control over myself.

For the next week or two I would wake up extra early so I could start my day off with some exercise and a healthy breakfast. Squeeze an afternoon walk in at lunch time, and before I knew it the day was over. I started to feel really good about what I was doing. I even lost a few pounds. Then out of nowhere I would have one bad day. One day I missed something from my morning routine and the excuses didn’t stop coming. “The day was already ruined, might as well start over again tomorrow.” is exactly what I said in order to justify the fast food I was going to get for lunch. Or there was when I would let my guard down because I had been doing so well. “I deserved a reward.” was what I said as I skipped my evening workout. My favorite one yet, I would start my period and use that as an excuse to over indulge on chocolate or anything else I could find.

This was a constant cycle. A cycle that is currently in the process of getting crushed. So why should you (or I for that matter) believe that this time is going to be any different? There have been so many failed attempts in the past, what’s going to make this one any different? Well with each failure I learned something new and a I gained a new piece of the puzzle. This time is going to be different because I have more pieces to the than ever before. The most important piece I have is belief. I have to believe with every bit of me that there is a reason I am making these changes. I have to believe that I am doing this for me and me alone. I have to believe that I am making these changes because I am working on more than a physical transformation. (I will explain this a bit more later on.) The belief I have is why I know that this time is going to be different.

 

Leave a Reply

