Making it Happen

I remember one afternoon, a few friends and I were laying around on the living room floor looking at my mom’s road atlas. We were planning the road trip we would take that summer after we graduated high school. We spent the weekend planning the route we would take, the stops that we would make, the snacks that we would have, where we would stay…we planned everything we could possible think of. We even made phone calls to rental car companies so we knew we would have reliable transportation.

I can’t remember why, but that trip we spent so much time planning never happened. To this day, every time I see an image of the lower 48 states I think of how badly I want to make that trip happen. It seems so far out of reach at this point with the reality of car payments, living expenses, medical bills, and everything else that life throws my way.  After years and years of working one, two, even three jobs at any given time and not enjoying a summer since before I could drive; I decided that this NEEDS to happen. Now, I can sit here and keep writing about how this is only going to be a dream because I am so far in debt and could never afford to take the time off work to make this dream a reality. Or, I can sit here and tell you exactly how I am going to make it happen.

I am going to go with the latter. I have a plan, well sort of. I am starting from the bottom as my current financial situation is… well  let’s just say that living paycheck to paycheck is an understatement. My plan is 48 states in 48 weeks. That is almost a year I want to take off of work, traveling the country and doing what I have thought about doing for years. In order to make this happen the way I want I will not be leaving until some time towards the end of 2018.

I have a timeline of everything that I expect to happen between now and then that I will share once it is a little more fine tuned. The first step however, is finding a second job. I began this process last week and I am keeping my fingers crossed for opportunity to start knocking any day now. But, until it does I will keep my eyes open and my faith strong.

Leave a Reply

